Posted in Writing

Beautiful Enhancement

Here’s a neat little writing exercise that I came up with that I think will really improve the beauty of one’s writing…

If you’re like me, and you love to write, you probably love to read, as well. As I was reading Truthwitch by Susan Dennard a while ago, I came across a couple phrases that I thought were written really beautifully. I couldn’t keep reading, so I grabbed a small pad of paper and wrote them down.
As I kept reading that book and moved onto the next, I kept that pad of paper near me so I could write down any effective descriptions or examples of unique word choice. Soon, I’d amassed several pages worth of the best strokes of writing genius, spanning multiple books and multiple authors – from single words to eye-catching phrases to whole paragraphs of gorgeous descriptions. From one book alone – The Rose and the Dagger, by Renee Ahdieh – I found at least a page and a half of beautiful words (Renee Ahdieh is actually one of my favorite young adult authors for that reason – such lovely word choice, all the time!).

I organized the little snippets on a Word document and printed it out. I’m keeping it next to my laptop when I write now, so that if I’m looking for a pretty embellishment to whatever I’m describing, I’ll have a dictionary of some of my new favorite word combinations to choose from.

I recommend this technique. I’ve only had my little dictionary for a while, and it’s proved extremely helpful. Plus, I adore having beautiful words at my fingertips!

Leave a Reply

