Posted in School, Writing

Twin Worlds

My latest scene is up, titled A Tale of Two Societies. It’s a break from my previous scenes because the social issue – the split of the social classes – is not the main focus of the piece. It’s two descriptions – one illuminating a ball at the royal palace in full swing, and the other revealing the dirt-poor underbelly of the city slums in the shadow of the palace’s opulence.

This scene fits within my main story, each description in the perspective of one of the two characters who argue in Powder Keg. I used it as a study in effective word choice. Using descriptive words like “diamonds,” “hundreds,” and “finest” give a completely different feel than “crust,” “scraped,” and “arid.”

I am also pleased about my food description in the royal party. If I can make myself hungry while writing, that’s a win in my book.

Leave a Reply

